Life for Chhota Rajan, 8 others for the murder of J Dey


The Special Judge, MCOC Act Cases, Mumbai (Maharashtra) has  sentenced Life Imprisonment to nine accused i.e Sadashiv Nikalje @ Chhota Rajan; Rohit Tangppan Joseph @ Rohi @ Satish Kalya @ Sir; Anil Bhanudas Waghmode; Abhijit Kashinath Shinde; Nilesh Narayan Shedge @ Babu; Arun Janardhan Dake; Mangesh Damodar Agawane; Sachin Suresh Gaikwad & Deepak Dalbirsingh Sisodia in a case relating to murder of the noted crime journalist in Mumbai, Jyoti Nipendrakumar Dey.

The instant case was registered by CBI in January, 2016 U/s 302/34 of IPC r/w 3, 25, 27 of Arms Act relating to alleged murder of Jyoti Nipendrakumar Dey, then Journalist of Mumbai, on the request of Maharashtra Government and further Notification from Government of India. CBI took up the investigation of the case which was earlier registered by Maharashtra Police at Police Station-Powai, District Mumbai. The Maharashtra Police has earlier filed chargesheet against accused in the Designated court at Mumbai.

CBI unearthed the conspiracy of killing J.Dey. Accused Rajendra Sadashiv Nikalje @ Chhota Rajan was brought to India from Indonesia on 06.11.2015 and arrested by CBI in another case. The advanced & scientific techniques were adopted and Voice Sample of accused was also taken which were matched with incriminating intercepted calls as per Expert opinion. CBI also seized I-phones and I-Pad of Chhota Rajan & retrieved incriminating data connecting various accused in the conspiracy. Sufficient evidence had also emerged to establish that Global Roaming SIM Cards were arranged by the accomplice of accused to the members of Organised Crime Syndicates.

After thorough investigation, CBI had filed Supplementary chargesheet on 05.08.2017U/s 302, 34, 120-B, 201 of IPC; Section 3, 25, 27 of Arms Act; 37 (1) (a), 135 of Bombay Police Act; Section 3 (1) (i), 3 (2), 3 (4) of MCOC Act 1999, in the Court of Special Judge, MCOC Act Cases, Mumbai (Maharashtra). The charges were framed against the accused on 31.08.2016. During trial, prosecution examined 155 witnesses.

The trial court convicted nine accused and acquitted two accused. Meanwhile, another journo, Jigna Vora and Joseph Paulson were acquitted in the MCOCA court in the case.

Box- A statement by police inspector Nandkumar Gopale on the case

Today  I am really feel proud to be a Police officer as I am part of that team who brought Killer of Journalist J Dey before judiciary and judiciary played their role in Convicting killer of J Dey.It is victory of Justice Delivery System .I specially thanks to Jt CP Deven Bharti sir and ACP Arun Chavan who played important role in this case .I Hope today Soul of J Dey and Her beloved mother  rest in peace today.Now nobody will dare to attack on journalist.


PI Nandkumar Gopale


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here